Damn, I wish I was your cover

22 04 2009

Here’s my first of many ‘covers that are better than the original’ posts. And by ‘better’, I really just mean that I like it better, because objective reasoning is beyond my pay grade here.

First up is the Bat for Lashes/Fionn Regan/Maps rendition of “Higher Than the Sun” by Primal Scream, performed live for the BBC program “In the Company Of” back in August 2007. True, we’re dealing with a classic here, Screamadelica being a groundbreaking album (that I love), but props to Natasha Khan’s vocals (with slivers of Regan’s voice echoing in the backround) for taking a trippy acid house track and making it so emotive and moving…my heart melts a little every time I hear it. This makes my top 25 all-time. 

Bat for Lashes w/Fionn Regan and Maps – Higher than the Sun (Primal Scream cover)
Primal Scream – Higher than the Sun

 
Bonus track – “Loaded” remixed by Terry Farley (one of the producers of Screamadelica). Man, I love this version..makes me want to go pub hopping in Scotland.
Primal Scream – Loaded (Terry Farley remix)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

