Hey cover, this is less than a crush

5 02 2009

As part of their elbo.ws project Ruby Isle have been covering the top song on Elbows with mixed results, though I have to give them credit for putting each one together in a week. Some other covers include The Rake’s Song (The Decemberists) and My Girls (Animal Collective).

I kinda like the “White Winter..” cover version better than the original, which says a lot about my musical taste I suppose. They really sucked the whole ‘warm & cozy ski lodge’ feeling right out of the song. But I was never a fan of that anyway (oh the blasphemy!).
Ruby Isle – White Winter Hymnal (Fleet Foxes cover)
Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal

 

This one cracks me up though, I just don’t think it works..but at least we can go spinning to Bon Iver now.
Ruby Isle – Skinny Love (Bon Iver cover)
Bon Iver – Skinny Love

 

And unrelated, I really like the Hot Chip cover of Joy Division’s Transmission.
Hot Chip – Transmission (Joy Division cover)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

